SERVICE-LINE

+49 8382 4064

Varta Guide Empfehlung 2014

Salem castleSalem castle

Salem castle is one of the leading cultural monuments in southern Germany, and one of the most popular tourist destinations on Lake Constance. Accompanied by a specialist guide, visitors hear gripping anecdotes taken from over seven centuries of cultural history. Take, for instance, the Gothic Minster with its unique alabaster plasterwork, or the ornately decorated rooms in the Baroque palace.

Baroque splendour, Salem castle

A Cistercian heritage

This former Cistercian monastery nestles deep in the picturesque countryside of the Linzgau region. In 1802, in its role as the marquis’ palace, it passed into the hands of the marquises of Baden; since 2009 it is under the auspices of the National Castles and Gardens of Baden-Wuerttemburg.

Its origins go back to the Middle Ages, to the year 1134, when the hamlet of Salmannsweiler was bequeathed to the Cistercian order for the foundation of a monastery. In a very short time this developed into one of the leading abbeys in southern Germany.

Salem experienced a second period of affluence during the Baroque era, a fact borne out by the sumptuously decorated abbey buildings – now the family home of the marquis of Baden.

Salem palace comes across as a thoroughly lived-in place, with extensive outbuildings, a courtyard garden with a maze, an adventure playground, and a number of artists’ studios and craft shops, carrying on the handicraft traditions which date back to Salem’s years as a monastery.

Accompanied by a specialist guide, visitors hear gripping anecdotes taken from over seven centuries of cultural history. Take, for instance, the Gothic Minster with its unique alabaster plasterwork, or the ornately decorated rooms of the Baroque palace. Following extensive renovation work the Imperial Chamber, the keystone of Salem’s exhibition area, will reopen to the public from 1st April 2012.

The Salem Art Matinee offers a series of special guided tours every Sunday at 11.00, based on varying themes relating to Salem’s art and history.

On Sundays at 15.00 families with children can take part in the tour: “On the trail of the white monks”. Dressed up in monks’ clothes, children can explore the monastery and experience how the monks used to live.

The following are open to individual visitors: the historical stables, wine press, distillery museum and smithy; courtyard garden with maze, and adventure playground.

The Fire Brigade Museum houses a collection of antique fire engines and fire-fighting equipment dating from the Baroque era right through to the present day.

Opening times: from 1st April to 1st November:

Mon – Sat 09.30 to 18.00, Sun & holidays 10.30 to 18.00

2nd November to 31st March

There is a short introductory tour every Sunday at 15.00


Salem Castle Management Committee

www.salem.de

Lindauer Hof
Dammgasse 2
D-88131 Lindau im Bodensee
Tel +49 8382 4064
Fax +49 8382 24203

info@lindauerhof.de
www.lindauerhof.de

Google+